Welcome the Double H

It’s here!

My Kala Hutch Hutchinson Signature Limited Edition uBass (which I affectionately call the Double H) has arrived and it’s a beauty. I haven’t had a chance to give a workout yet–I’m letting it warm up to room temperature before I attempt to tune it and play it for any length of time. It’s been sitting on the cold UPS truck all day (it’s snowing again here in New York).

For those of you that don’t know him, Hutch Hutchinson is the bass player for Bonnie Raitt. He’s played with many luminaries in music–from the B52s to Ringo Starr.

To tide you over and hopefully whet your appetite, here’s a photo of the Double H with its brother the Mahogany fretted uBass.

Right off the bat I can see there are some significant differences between the Mahogany and Double H.

Look for a full review of the Double H with more detail in the next few days.

One thought on “Welcome the Double H

  1. Beautiful! They both look great in your wall!
    I just got home from a jazzgig – of cause I only played my fretless Ubass for the whole gig!
    Looking forward to your review!

Comments are closed.